D & C procedure

It's over. About what I expected. Not bad at all. Hubby and I showed up at the doc's office at 7am to sign forms, then went home and then to the surgery center at 10:30 AM for my noon surgery.

I filled out more forms (it's covered 100% by my insurance I found out), and then hubby went with me to a waiting room. I then changed into a paper gown and a cloth robe-like thingy, paper slippers, etc. I have never had any kind of surgery before (except impacted wisdom teeth- which was I.V. sedation.

After changing, I went to a cubicle and sat in a pre-op chair. It was vynel (sp?) and for good reason, because when the nurse put in my I.V. of saline, I bled all over. Apparently, I'm a difficult one to put an I.V. in, she says. My veins are deep. Great. Anyhow, she got it the first try, and just had to wipe up a bit of a mess on the chair and on me- I had to get a new robe. They gave me a blanket out of a "blanket warmer" machine. Hubby and I then waited for a bit, and then talked with the anesthesiologist.

She said that she would be giving me some Valium, and then putting a gas thing behind my tongue, which would keep me asleep during the procedure. I was nervous during this whole pre-op thing, mostly because I had no idea how I'd feel afterwards.

My doctor came in at noon and said she'd meet me in the operating room. She left to get scrubbed in, and I said goodbye to hubby. *sniff*

I was walked down a long, cold hallway by 2 nurses. They were very chatty with me, and obviously wanted to keep me talking so I wouldn't think too much and freak out. Question after question about where I was from, what I did for a living, etc.

Finally we came to the operating room. There were 4 people or so waiting for me. It was a huge room with bright lights and trays of instruments. The surgical table is what freaked me out the most. It was 1/2 of a table, with the bottom part gone, and two HUGE leg resting things, covered in ugly egg-crate soft stuff. It was really, really ugly and scary looking.

I was asked to lay down on the table. As I walked in, I noticed Charlie, the anesthesiologist, unhooking the saline and shooting something in my I.V. As I layed on the awful-looking operating table I said "Did you sneak something to me Charlie?" She admitted she did. I was told who was whom in the room- don't remember any names now- and asked to scoot down so that my butt was at the end of the short table I was on. I scooted down and that is the last thing I remember.

I'm not sure when I woke up- one hour later perhaps? But I was in recovery and hurting a bit. I was given pain medication thru my I.V. and told everything went fine. I felt relief that this is physically behind me. After the pain medication took effect, I felt alot better- was given juice and crackers because I was a bit nauseated. Then I just layed there. Hubby came around and went to get my prescriptions filled upstairs in the pharmacy. There were only a few of us in recovery, and so we had lots of attention.

After hubby got back, I was already dressed and had my I.V. taken out. It was around 2:45 or so. I thanked the nurses there and we left.

Last night the Percocet made me nauseated, and I was afraid I was going to puke, but I had no pain, so I guess that was good. I slept great, and am only now feeling just a little crampy. I think I'll try to stick to ibuprofen today, as I feel like going to see a movie and I don't want to get sick or forget what I saw, haha.

So, things are better. All in all everything went good, and I am glad to have this behind me. I won't forget the baby that could've been, and I understand that these things happen. I know I will continue to be sad for my loss, and that's OK because I know I'll get thru it, and hubby and I will have the family that we want someday soon.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2003-12-31 at 8:15 a.m.
comment