hit home- get prepared for it

I'm thankful that my friends weren't hurt or killed in the hurricane. I feel like I should say something about the worst natural disaster to hit these shores in recorded history, but what can I say? That it's turning political? Of course it is, everything is bipartisan politics now.


Whose fault are the deaths? Is it Man's fault (meaning human beings)? Is it the State Government's fault? City Government? The president's? Was it just a freak occurrance, or was God "smiting" a particular group of people, as has been suggested by some?

Everyone blames someone.

I can be somewhat of a conspiracy theorist at times. Because I come from the rural-white-poor town that I do, I am familiar with anti-government recluses. My parents' own neighbors took their rifles and buried them in the ground in PVC piping, convinced that the Government would be doing a door-to-door search soon (during the *Clinton years, mind you). Others (many others), have a variety of "No Trespassing" signs. I went to a few yard sales with my mother two weekends ago and visited the home of some nice folks who had warning signs at the edge of their driveway, talking about how people who didn't speak English don't belong in the U.S. and not on their property, etc. The signs were crudely covered with black trash bags,(I assume for the yard sale), but the staples had come loose on one, and it could be read. I guess the proprietors of the sale had decided to put their bigoted views on the back burner for that day.

Where was I going with this? Oh, I've decided that hubby & I need a gun. God knows, most everyone has one here- that's for sure. Thinking about what would happen if I had to protect myself/my son/property from other people in the event of a disaster makes me want one. Since "that bitch" Kitrina came around, I've done alot of thinking.

I'm wondering about how to keep food & water in the house- where should I store it? What should I get? I plan on bringing the topic up with hubby and discussing it.

On another (but similar) note: I have always had an environmental political view. Now I think and wonder about this city I live in- one road out. I'm glad that we have gotten the $$ from the Feds to build a bridge over the *Knik arm northward. I wish the timelines would be sped up and the bridge built (safely) soon. I know it won't be the best thing for the marine life in the area (pilings going into the ocean floor), but I can't help but shudder at the thought of everyone on this peninsula trying to leave at the same time. Gulp.

Yep, we need another road, and fast.

Previous ... Next
� mbwillow on
2005-09-06 at 3:43 p.m.
comment